Al otro lado del espejo 1973 Spanish and French versions
Ana Olivera (Emma Cohen) is a singer-songwriter who plays jazz in nightclubs. She lives in Madeira with her father (Howard Vernon), who is secretly obsessed with her. Depressed over her coming marriage to Arturo (Wal "The Horrible Sexy Vampire" Davis), Mr. Olivera commits suicide on his daughter's wedding day. Distraught, she breaks her engagement and throws herself into her work and a series of affairs with an actor (Robert Woods), a theater director (Simon Andreu) and an aging playboy (Philippe Lemaire). Meanwhile, the selfish ghost of her father lives on inside the mirror where she first caught sight of his dead body, compelling the psychotic Ana to murder any man who vies for her heart.

In the French version (1974), Ana's father is replaced with a lesbian sister named Marie (Lina Romay), who also commits suicide upon learning of the wedding. Monique Delauanay and Ramon Ardid co-star in this version, which is basically a softcore sex film.

DVD9 + DVD5 | PAL 16:9 | 01:31:40 + 01:35:24 | 4.97 Gb + 4.31 Gb
Language: Francais or Espanol
Subtitles: English (both version), Francais (Spanish version only)
Genre: Horror


* The film (French version, 91:40)
-- 'De l'autre cote de Jess, par Alain Petit': Interview with Alain Petit (29:22)
-- Poster gallery (0:32)
-- Bonus trailers (The 'Collection Jess Franco'): 'La comtesse perverse', 'Celestine', 'Plaisir a trois', 'Venus in Furs', 'Sumuru', 'Les Inassouveies', 'Le miroir obscene'

* The film (Spanish version, 95:24)

Related posts:

  1. Torso / The Bodies Presented Traces of Carnal Violence / I corpi presentano tracce di violenza carnale (1973) Blu-ray Italian and US versions
  2. La tumba de los muertos vivientes / Grave of the Living Dead / Oasis of the Zombies / L’abime des morts vivants (1983) DVD5 original Spanish version
  3. The Mirror / Zerkalo / Зеркало (1974) DVD9 RUSCICO, 2 x Blu-Ray Curzon Artificial Eye
  4. The first shorts of Nanni Moretti: La sconfitta (1973), Pate de bourgeois (1973), Come parli, frate? (1974) DVD5
  5. The Anton Chekhov Collection: Platonov (1971), The Wood Demon (1974), The Proposal (1959), A Wedding (1961), The Seagull (1978), An Artist’s Story (1974), Uncle Vanya (1970 and 1991 versions), The Three Sisters (1970), The Cherry Orchard (1962 and 1981 versions) 8 x DVD9