Bill Douglas Trilogy: My Childhood (1972), My Ain Folk (1973), My Way Home (1978) DVD9 + DVD5
Bill Douglas was a Scottish filmmaker of high regard and low output; his brief career produced a trilogy of short films and one feature release. Facets' The Bill Douglas Trilogy contains his critically celebrated autobiographical films My Childhood, My Ain Folk and My Way Home.

The narrative is largely autobiographical, following Jamie (played with heart-breaking conviction by Stephen Archibald) as he grows up in a poverty-stricken mining village in post-war Scotland. In these brutal surroundings, and subject to hardship and rejection, Jamie learns to fend for himself. We see him grow from child to adolescent - angry and bewildered, but playful, creative and affectionate.

DVD9 + DVD5 | PAL 4:3 (720x576) VBR
00:44:34 + 00:52:56 + 01:08:46
7.47 Gb + 4.11 Gb + 3% rec
English (Dolby AC3, 2 ch)
Subtitle: English
Genre: Biography, Drama

Director: Bill Douglas
Actors: Stephen Archibald, Hughie Restorick, Jean Taylor Smith, Paul Kermack, Gerald James

In My Childhood (1972), eight-year old Jamie lives with his granny and elder brother in a Scots mining village in 1945. With his mother in a mental home, and his father absent, he is subject to the hardships of poverty. In My Ain Folk (1973), Jamie is sent to live with his paternal grandmother and uncle; a life full of silence and rejection. My Way Home (1978) sees Jamie's ultimate victory over his circumstances; after a spell in foster care, and a homeless shelter, he is conscripted into the RAF, where he embarks on a redemptive friendship with Robert, which allows him to emerge from his ineffectual adolescence to pursue his artistic ambition.

• Bill Douglas: Intent on Getting the Image (2006, 63 mins), a new documentary about Bill Douglas's life and work.
• Come Dancing (1970, 15 mins), Douglas's remarkable, rarely-seen student short.
• Rare archive interview with Bill Douglas (4 mins)

Related posts:

  1. Bill Morrison: Selected Films (1996-2014) 3 x Blu-ray
  2. Mark Donskoy – Gorky Trilogy: Childhood of Maxim Gorky / Detstvo Gorkogo / Детство Горького (1938), My Apprenticeship / V lyudyakh / В людях (1938), My Universities / Moi universitety / Мои университеты (1939) 3 x DVD9 RUSCICO
  3. The Walking Tall Trilogy: Walking Tall (1973), Walking Tall Part II (1975), Final Chapter: Walking Tall (1977) 3 x DVD5
  4. Pier Paolo Pasolni’s Trilogy of Life: Il Decameron / The Decameron (1971), I racconti di Canterbury / The Canterbury Tales (1972), Il fiore delle mille e una notte / Arabian Nights (1974) 4 x DVD Criterion Collection
  5. It’s Alive Collection (Trilogy): It’s Alive (1974), It Lives Again (1978), It’s Alive III: Island of the Alive (1987) 3 x DVD5