Dark Days (2000) 2 x DVD9 - 10th Anniversary Edition
Mark Singer's astonishing debut is a stylishly shot black and white 16mm documentary which focuses on the homeless who inhabit the subway tunnels beneath Manhattan. Risking life and limb, the desperate, disparate men and women on whom Singer turns his unflinching camera build temporary shelters which they equip as best they can despite their abject poverty and the surrounding squalor. Overrun by vermin and forced to exist with little running water and scant sanitation, the subway dwellers are at least accorded the small blessing of being off the streets, even if they only find themselves under them. Their habitation is threatened, however, when the subway owners announce plans to have them evicted.

Dark Days, was released at the turn of the new century, and to celebrate its decade milestone, Oscilloscope Labs has released a 10th-anniversary edition, marking an upgrade in packaging for a film that has been absent from DVD for some time.

2 x DVD9 | NTSC 16:9 | 01:22:04 | 5.55 Gb + 6.70 Gb + 3% rec
Language: English
Subtitles: English
Genre: Documentary

Director: Marc Singer
Cast: The Manhattan Homeless
Country: USA

• Audio commentary with director Marc Singer
• The Making of Dark Days (2000) – interviews with Marc Singer, DJ Shadow, and others (45:56)
• The Tunnel Today – director Marc Singer revisits the tunnel in 2011
• Fragile Dwelling – an all new photo essay featuring photographs by Margaret Morton (27:29)
• Dark Days Design – a look at the typography with title designer Jay Hillyer (5:07)
• Life After the Tunnel – an update on the characters (16:53)
• Introduction with former New York City Mayor David Dinkins and Q&A with Singer and Executive Director of the Coalition for the Homeless Mary E. Brosnahan at the Maysles Cinema in 2011 (31:03)
• Original theatrical trailer (:57)
• 16 Deleted scenes with notes by Marc Singer

Related posts:

  1. Dark Angels (2000) DVD9 + DVD5 Special Collector’s Edition
  2. Woodstock: 3 Days of Peace and Music (1970) 40th Anniversary Edition
  3. A Constant Forge: The Life and Art of John Cassavetes (2000) DVD9 Criterion Collection
  4. As I Was Moving Ahead Occasionally I Saw Brief Glimpses of Beauty (2000) 2 x DVD9
  5. Die Unberuhrbare / The Untouchable / No Place to Go (2000) DVD5