Death Valley Days Season 1
With 453 episodes spanning 18 seasons, Death Valley Days ranks as the most successful anthology series in the history of television.

While many future stars appeared on Death Valley Days (e.g., Leonard Nimoy and DeForest Kelley), the first season spotlights veteran supporting players like Denver Pyle, Lyle Talbot, Robert Hutton (Barbara's son), Hank Patterson (Mr. Ziffel on Green Acres), and Sheila Ryan (from Anthony Mann's film noir Railroaded). The biggest star may be Jock Mahoney, who would gain fame later as TV's Yancy Derringer (1958-59) and as one of the better big screen Tarzans (e.g., Tarzan's Three Challenges).

Supposedly, many of the Death Valley Days episodes were based on actual events. The plots range from serious ("How Death Valley Got Its Name") to comedy ("The Little Bullfrog Nugget," which concerns a woman with an affinity for eggs). An enduring theme, however, is the harshness of frontier life, in which finding food, water, and shelter was the difference between survival and death.

3 x DVD9 | NTSC 16:9 | 450 minutes | 7.67 Gb + 7.57 Gb + 7.52 Gb
Language: English
Subtitles: English (closed captions)
Genre: Western

Related posts:

  1. Death Valley Days – The Complete Second Season (1953-1954) 3 x DVD9
  2. Death Valley Days – The Complete Third Season (1954-1955) 3 x DVD9
  3. Spartacus: The Complete Series – Season 1: Blood and Sand (2010), Gods of the Arena (2011), Season 2: Vengeance (2012), Season 3: War of the Damned (2013) 12 x DVD
  4. Death in Paradise (2011) 2 x DVD5 Season 1
  5. Top Boy (2011 – 2013) 4 x DVD The complete first and second season