A prequel to the popular British television series "Inspector Morse," which enjoyed a healthy run between 1987 and 2000, "Endeavour" intends to restart the franchise in a younger direction, hoping to entice a new generation of viewers willing to be sucked into fussy behaviors, dire crimes, and extended sequences of clue gathering.

Set in mid to late 1960s Oxford, England, the series centres on the early career of Endeavour Morse (Shaun Evans) after he has left Lonsdale College of Oxford University late in his third year without taking a degree, spent a short time in the Royal Corps of Signals as a cipher clerk, and then joined the Carshall-Newtown Police. In the pilot episode, having been transferred to CID after only two years as a uniformed police constable, the young DC Morse soon becomes disillusioned with law enforcement and begins writing a resignation letter. Before he can resign, Morse is sent with other detectives from the Carshall-Newtown Police to the Oxford City Police's Cowley Police Station to assist in investigating the case of a missing fifteen-year-old schoolgirl.

Created to reboot the world of Inspector Morse, "Endeavour" is careful to map out a mystery worthy of the revival. It's a long road of questioning for the lead character, with the screenplay using every opportunity it has to solidify traits and tease future habits (a teetotaler at the start of the show, Morse is downing beer by the gallon at the end), also establishing the detective's masterful way of deduction, albeit genius in its early stages of exercise. "Endeavour" isn't a radical relaunch, more interested in a comfort food viewing experience for mystery maniacs, boosted by a comfortably fidgety performance from Evens, while Roger Allam provides sublime support as mentor Detective Inspector Thursday.

9 x DVD | PAL 16:9 | 62.3 Gb + 3% rec
Language: English
Subtitles: English
Genre: Crime, Drama, Mystery

Related posts:

  1. Bergerac (1981–1991) 27 x DVD9 The Complete Collection
  2. Tenko (1981 – 1984) 12 x DVD The Complete Series
  3. The Life and Legend of Wyatt Earp (1955–1961) 30 x DVD The Complete Series
  4. Uncle (2012 – 2017) 3 x DVD9 The Complete Collection
  5. Bordertown (1989 – 1991) The Complete Series 6 x DVD9