Night of the Demon (1957), Curse of the Demon(1958) DVD9
Dr. John Holden (Dana Andrews), a scientist and professional debunker of superstitious charlatans, arrives in England to help Professor Henry Harrington (Maurice Denham) assault the phony cult surrounding Dr. Julian Karswell (Niall McGinnis). But Harrington has mysteriously died and Holden becomes involved with his niece Joanna (Peggy Cummins), who thinks Karswell had something to do with it. Karswell's 'tricks' confuse the skeptical Holden, but he stubbornly holds on to his conviction that he's " ... not a sucker, like 90% of the human race." That is, until the evidence mounts that Harrington was indeed killed by a demon summoned from Hell, and that Holden is the next intended victim!

DVD9 | NTSC 16:9
01:35:42 & 01:21:39 | 7.02 Gb + 3% rec
Language: English (Dolby AC3, 2 ch)
Subtitles: English, Francais, Japanese
Genre: Horror, Thriller

Director: Jacques Tourneur
Cast: Dana Andrews, Peggy Cummins, Niall MacGinnis, Maurice Denham, Athene Seyler
Country: UK

Originally released as "Night Of The Demon," Jacques Tourneur's eerie occult horror thriller was re-titled and shortened for the 1958 American release, with several scenes in the second quarter shuffled about to quicken the pace and elicit a different momentum of shocks and pauses. Columbia's DVD presents both versions of this classic in one package.

Download Night of the Demon (1957), Curse of the Demon(1958) DVD9:


Related posts:

  1. Night of the Demon (1980) DVD5
  2. The Aztec Mummy Collection: La momia azteca / Attack of the Aztec Mummy (1957), La maldicion de la momia azteca / The Curse of the Aztec Mummy (1957), La momia azteca contra el robot humano / The Robot vs. the Aztec Mummy (1958) 3 x DVD5
  3. The Hideous Sun Demon (1959) DVD5
  4. The Awful Dr. Orlof / The Demon Doctor / Gritos en la noche (1962) DVD5 + DVD9 Restored Spanish version (Fullscreen) and International version (Widescreen)
  5. The Val Lewton Horror Collection: Cat People (1942), The Curse of the Cat People (1944), The Leopard Man (1943), The Ghost Ship (1943), I Walked with a Zombie (1943), The Body Snatcher (1945), Isle of the Dead (1945), Bedlam (1946), The Seventh Victim (1943), Shadows in the Dark: The Val Lewton Legacy (2005) 5 x DVD9