Bod (1975) DVD9 Complete Series
Bod was a BBC children's television programme first shown in 1975, comprised of thirteen episodes, based on four original Bod books by Joanna and Michael Cole. It was an animated cartoon series narrated by John Le Mesurier with music by Derek Griffiths and produced by David Yates. The four books were published in 1966 in the United Kingdom and later in the United States and France. They were: Bod’s Apple, Bod’s Present, Bod’s Dream and Bod and the Cherry Tree. The French version of Bod's Apple was called La Pomme de Gus.

Before the animated series was commissioned, the four books had been read on another BBC children's programme — Playschool. In 1974, thirteen five-minute episodes were created for transmission on the BBC as part of the Watch with Mother series, and were also sold to Australia's ABC channel. Soon thereafter, it was shown in New Zealand, the Netherlands, Sweden, Finland, Norway, Poland and Israel. In the United States, Bod aired on Nickelodeon as a segment on the Pinwheel program.

The character of Bod is a boy who lives in a town with Aunt Flo, PC Copper, Frank the Postman and Farmer Barleymow. Each of the characters have their own theme music performed by Griffiths which is heard when they appear. Regular features are animal identification and Bod Snap.

There is also another set of characters who appear in each episode called Alberto Frog and his Amazing Animal Band. This section featured short extracts from famous pieces of classical music as part of the story, and always ended with Alberto choosing a different flavour of milkshake as his reward for solving a problem.

Bod has appeared in Channel 4's 100 Greatest Kids' TV shows and 100 Greatest Cartoons, and the creators of Homestar Runner have cited it as one of their inspirations.

The DVD contains all 13 episodes of Bod. Five of these are extended, as originally broadcast, to feature animal identification games, counting songs, Bod snap and Alberto Frog and his Amazing Animal Band.

1. Bod's Present
2. Bod and the Dog
3. Bod and the Apple
4. Bod and the Kite
5. Bod and the Cherry Tree
6. Bod and the Rain
7. Bod's Dream
8. Bod on the Beach
9. Bod and the Birds
10. Bod and the Cake
11. Bod and the Grasshopper
12. Bod in the Park
13. Bod and Breakfast

DVD9 | PAL 4:3 | 01:50:32 | 7.49 Gb + 3% rec
Language: English
Subtitles: none
Genre: Animation, Family, Music

Related posts:

  1. The Magic School Bus (1994–1998) 8 x DVD The Complete Series
  2. The Ghost Busters (1975) 2 x DVD9 The Complete Live-Action Series
  3. William Tell (1958 – 1959) 5 x DVD9 The Complete Series
  4. Return of the Saint (1978–1979) 7 x DVD The Complete Series
  5. Walt Disney Treasures: Davy Crockett – The Complete Televised Series (1954-1955) 2 x DVD9